Monday, February 7, 2011

J.F.A. - The Speed Of Sound

Genre: Skate Rock
Year: 2010


01. Danny Sargent's Trucks
02. Party Like The Amish
03. You Can't Surf
04. Fortune Favors The Brave
05. Wilson
06. 16 Hippies
07. Can't Go Back
08. Sponsored Guy
09. Intermission
10. Nanny State
11. Bow To No Man
12. I Hate Chocolate Cake
13. Number 7
14. Do You Know This Man?
15. My Wife
16. Mayan Calendar


Sunday, February 6, 2011

Jamaica 69 - Matehuala Rides Again

Genre: Ska / Reggae
Year: 2005


01. Se Acabo El Amor
02. Sexy Reggae
03. Rudy Enamorado
04. Mi Generacion
05. Sensacional 71
06. Harry El Sucio


Saturday, February 5, 2011

Jamaica 69 - Recuerdos De Kingston

Genre: Ska / Reggae
Year: 2003


01. 69 Moonlight
02. Kingston Caribe
03. Calido Amor
04. Mentiras
05. Nadie Como Tu
06. Penny Reel
07. Orgullo Obrero
08. Radio Reggae
09. Rude Girl
10. No Volveras
11. Regresa A Mi
12. Borracho
13. Jamaica 69
14. Kingston Caribe (Live)
15. Radio Reggae (live)
16. 69 Moonlight (live)


Friday, February 4, 2011

Dead Boys - We Have Come For Your Children

Iconic punk group the Dead Boys' release WE'VE COME FOR YOUR CHILDREN includes the songs "3rd Generation Nation," "Big City," and "Ain't It Fun."

Originally released in 1978, the second and final album by Cleveland punk heroes the Dead Boys was widely panned at the time, viewed as a move toward the mainstream. In retrospect, the cleaner and more metal-oriented sound seems an obvious precursor of hardcore, the American punk style that would dominate the 1980s, and singer Stiv Bators rarely sounded more inspired in his aggression.
Features Joey & Dee Dee Ramone!

Genre: Punk
Year: 1978


01. 3rd Generation Nation
02. I Won't Look Back
03. (I Don't Wanna Be No) Catholic Boy
04. Flame Thrower Love
05. Son Of Sam
06. Tell Me
07. Big City
08. Calling On You
09. Dead and Alive
10. Ain't It Fun


Thursday, February 3, 2011

Dance Hall Crashers - Lockjaw

An ebullient debut album by one of the best bands of the '90s ska-punk revival; nearly every song here is either extremely catchy, extremely funny or both. There's also a strong feminist slant here, which isn't that surprising, given that the two lead vocalists are women; just about every guy mentioned in the lyrics is somewhere between a bore and a creep The music, however, is a joyous, upbeat, two-guitar-driven racket, and frankly it's pretty hard to resist a band whose members can write a song about the tedium of their day jobs that includes the lines "Sometimes the days seem so long / I wish my boss hadn't taken my bong."

Genre: Punk/Ska
Year: 1995


01. Shelley
02. Don't Wanna Behave
03. Queen For A Day
04. Flyin
05. Good For Nothin
06. Buried Alive
07. Sticky
08. Too Late
09. Go
10. Enough
11. Pictures
12. Day Job
13. So Sue Us
14. We Owe


Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Crowned King - Break The Silence

Crowned Kings debut on Aquarius Records. The follow-up to their independent release 'Tempting Fate'. Hear why this band has played Warped tour numerous times and toured with the likes of The Distillers, Alexisonfire, Billy Talent, Fishbone, and

Genre: Ska
Year: 2003


01. Playing God
02. All That She Wanted
03. Turn It Up (we're Going Down)
04. One In A Million
05. Don't Wanna Go
06. A Song About Death
07. Impatience
08. True Love
09. Yours Truly
10. Unload
11. Tired Eyes
12. Reason To Believe


Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Crimpshrine - Duct Tape Soup LP

Highly influential punk band from Berkeley, California. The original incarnation of Crimpshrine consisted of Aaron Cometbus, Jeff Ott (12 years old at the time) and Jesse Michaels (who would later form Operation Ivy), and was formed in the summer of 1982. At that time, the group went by the name "S.A.G." A few demos from this period may survive on tape, and at least one track from this era was released on a compilation put out by Cometbus in the early 1990s.

S.A.G. broke up with the departure of Jesse Michaels in 1984, and the band changed their name to Crimpshrine and went through a whirlwind of lineup changes (including a brief stint with Tim Armstrong (pre-Operation Ivy) on bass). In 1986, the band began to play live shows, and in early 1987, their first demo was recorded.

Crimpshrine released several 7" records, and an LP on Lookout! Records, as well as a now extremely rare LP on Musical Tragedies (a German label). They also were featured on many compilations.

Crimpshrine disbanded in 1989 (although their last recordings would make their way onto a split 7" in 1990).

Crimpshrine members would go on to play in Operation Ivy, Rancid, Shotwell Coho, Pinhead Gunpowder, Sweet Babys, Tilt (2) and many other East Bay

Genre: Punk
Year: 1998


01. Trying Too Hard
02. Summertime
03. Caught Up
04. Left Outside Again
05. Safely Wasting Away
06. Wake Up
07. Pick Up The Pieces
08. RDC
09. Construction
10. Closed Doors, Closed Minds
11. Pretty Mess
13. Can You Feel That?
14. Along The Way
15. Free Will
16. Fucked Up Kid