Friday, January 1, 2010

The Ninjas - Skaflakes

The Ninjas were an Ann Arbor ska band who formed in August of 2002 and released their first album, Skaflakes, in 2003. Throughout the life of the band members included: Miller Tinkerhess on trumpet and vocals; Caleb Curtis on baritone and alto saxophones; Jake Scobey-Thal on tenor saxophone; Stephan Wunderlich on guitar and vocals; Nick Lundholm on guitar, bass and vocals; Derek Caldwell on trombone; Stuart Parnes on bass and Cade Sperlich on drums.

Their style was a mix of ska, punk, and jazz (several of the members were in the Community High jazz band and went on to study jazz in college), and they were immediately popular around Ann Arbor because of their fun, laid-back energy and mildly absurd lyrics. They were responsible for the increased popularity of the Neutral Zone, a teen area where they often played shows, and also for the renewed popularity of ska in Ann Arbor.

They released a second album, Platypus, in 2004 after performing with bands such as the Arrogant Sons of Bitches, Big D and the Kids Table, I Voted for Kodos, Streetlight Manifesto, and Mustard Plug, as well as winning the grand prize in the Spontaneous Combustions fundraiser contest for the Neutral Zone. A short tour supporting Platypus occurred in 2004.

They disbanded in 2006 because of distance difficulties. Three of the final members of The Ninjas formed a rock band called The Setup in

Genre: Ska
Year: 2003


01. Skaflakes
02. Two Clocks
03. Flip Out
04. Bubble Tea
05. New Breed Of Monster
06. Personality
07. Lucky Day
08. Calculus Girl
09. Instrumental
10. By Wednesday Man


No comments: